Furrball

Faking sincerity daily
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Feb 16, 2005
Pacific NW
Status
I went to graduate school before medical school. I was half way through a PhD and realized I was in the wrong place for me so I got a MSc and worked for a couple of years as a biochemist while I applied to med school.

I had only one bad experience with interviews. When I applied for med school I had a PhD on the admission committee attack me for quitting grad school. She seemed to take it personally that I chose getting an MD over a PhD. The reaming was almost as bad as my PI was on a good day -- picture a man 6'2", 130 pounds, with bad hygiene and a personality to match.

Don't just bail. Either get the MS or finish your PhD. You probably will be asked why you left the PhD program. Have an answer ready. Do not be defensive. :thumbup:

OP
S

swederoxette

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Feb 28, 2005
Status
Furrball said:
I went to graduate school before medical school. I was half way through a PhD and realized I was in the wrong place for me so I got a MSc and worked for a couple of years as a biochemist while I applied to med school.

I had only one bad experience with interviews. When I applied for med school I had a PhD on the admission committee attack me for quitting grad school. She seemed to take it personally that I chose getting an MD over a PhD. The reaming was almost as bad as my PI was on a good day -- picture a man 6'2", 130 pounds, with bad hygiene and a personality to match.

Don't just bail. Either get the MS or finish your PhD. You probably will be asked why you left the PhD program. Have an answer ready. Do not be defensive. :thumbup:

Hey

irrka

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Feb 26, 2005
Status