LECOM-B vs. ATSU-KCOM

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bumbo

Reaction score
Just got accepted to two DO programs (LECOM Bradenton and AT Still Kirksville) and have ~3 weeks to make a decision. It's hard since I have not been able to visit either campus so I feel a little blind in this decision.

I am a strong student with high stats for DO. I know I'll do well at either school so I am looking mostly for advice in which program will prepare me better for residency. Any advice is helpful, but I'd especially like to hear any thoughts of students from either school.

LECOM-B
Pros
  • Very high board scores. They really focused on this during the interview. Both pass rates and median scores are on par with mid/low-tier MD programs.
  • PBL. I learn best through discussion and independent reading.
  • Tuition (~$40-45k)
  • Doctor factory vibes. The interview was asynchronous and the whole process was impersonal.
  • Rotations. Seems like you have to set them up yourself - but I heard this is improving?
  • Admin comes off as a strict and rule oriented.
  • Reputation?

ATSU-KCOM
Pros
  • Really personal school and interview experience. Lots of resources available.
  • Mission driven. I appreciate the commitment to rural medicine and social issues in healthcare.
  • Lots of diverse rotations.
  • Admin seems supportive.

Cons
  • Tuition ($60-65k)
  • Location. Pretty much in the middle of nowhere Northeast Missouri.
  • Class is ranked, classes are not pass/fail, final exams(!) - I had enough of all of this at this point. Seems like this just introduces unnecessary competition.
  • Limited exposure to early clinical experience and I would imagine the rural environment makes it harder to see diverse patients and conditions.

Summary: Just looking to get different perspectives in order to make a more educated decision. Any advice or knowledge is appreciated. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.