legal immigrant (non resident) and paying for med school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Christelle017

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi there!
I am an immigrant from the west indies ( I live in the US under temporary protected status which allows me to work and go to school, have a social security card and the same right a US green card holder has but unfortunately it doesn't allow me to have some of the benefits such as getting help from the government paying for school. I am going to be a junior in school, I'm currently studying biology/pre-med. I am currently at 3.5 GPA which I am raising. I plan to take an EMT course by next year to gain experience in the medical field as I am fascinated with emergency medicine. On my spare time I read/ watch anything that pertains to medical school in every aspect, while juggling a part time job. ( I go to a CUNY school in NYC so paying for it isn't much compared to medical school tuition. I really believe I have a shot at American Medical school but I fear that my immigrant status will hinder me financially.
While i will not qualify for federal loans, What options are available for me to pay for school ? Also I know that I can get private loans but neither myself or my father haven't established enough credit history to be qualified to take out so much money. I am at a bind. I'm not sure what to do, as I don't want to choose a career where I am not reaching my full potential.
Is anyone readying ? Please help! Any advice /options?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Hello, first things first, please remove your real name from the post. It is important to stay anonymous on these forums!