legal obligation to treat?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cbrons

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a first year medical student so I apologize if I am putting this inquiry into the wrong forum. I remember learning in a graduate school course some time ago that physicians have an obligation to treat people in emergency situations outside the hospital/office. For example, if someone has a heart attack on a plane, a physician who does not attend to the person could be in violation of the law?

I understand that if you do decide to help someone in an emergency situation, you must provide them with some acceptable standard of care. I am a little fuzzy about this, though... I have heard physicians who order drinks on airplanes just to have a plausible excuse not to treat people who suffer an acute MI mid-flight (presumably because they do not want to be sued if the person ends up dying). Anyway, can someone clear this up for me? Sorry if it is a little convoluted.

Members don't see this ad.

Radiology focused, but still a nice general review of "good Samaritan" issues in medicine. Touches on your question.

Short answer: it depends on the state you're in.

Attachments

• good samaritan.pdf
    39 KB · Views: 102
Members don't see this ad :)
As I understand it, once you identify yourself and start treating, you have a certain level of obligation.

Seeing someone have a heart attack and walking away and only calling 911 is your right as a physician or nurse.

AFAIK, if you are in public (or on a plane), you do not have to come forward as a physician to help someone in distress and cannot be held liable for failing to act. Whether you can be held liable for treating someone and having something go badly for the patient, I've heard conflicting information. I assume it varies by location or situation.