amar314

Jun 17, 2013
Status (Visible)
  1. Pre-Podiatry
Hi everybody. So if you look through my postings on here you'll ask yourself if I'm really that indecisive...I am. I've had a hard time picking a career because nothing seems to fit perfectly. Right now I'm set to take the MCAT next month and apply for Podiatry School. I've been shadowing and I like it but I don't love it and for the amount of schooling (7 years) I'm unsure if it's worth it. I don't want my whole life being about work and eventually only want to work 3-4 days a week.

So I'm taking a look at dentistry. I'm slightly worried- is there saturation? Do I HAVE to open a private practice? Would I need to money wise? Is it worth the above average debt (in comparison to other professional schools)?

But also...can I get in? I graduated with a 3.42 overall and I think a 3.2 science (my transcript says 3.0 but it doesn't include research or this life science biology elective). Lots of volunteering and leadership there, will be published co-author with lots of research experience (scholarship to do 1 year research project, several conferences). I've shadowed dentists (probably near 100 hours) and it's something I could definitely see myself doing!

My biggest question & concern- should I do a post bacc to help my GPA? I'm in Florida and would not want to be out of state.

Thank you!

Faefly

2+ Year Member
Jun 21, 2016
Status (Visible)
  1. Dental Student
Don't you need to love something to be in it!
or is it just the white coat?

Reactions: 1 user

FanOfCostco

7+ Year Member
Jan 30, 2012
Status (Visible)
  1. Pre-Dental