let's try this again - my story & some questions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BananaRepublic

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
My other post went to hell, so I decided to post up again. I’m 19 years old, non-urm first generation (refugee) student. I’ve always been the guy that would rather work than go to school, and never really tried in high school – which bit me in the ass in high school when I thought I could “get out early” by doing some course work at a community college (I guess high school study tactics couldn’t get me by . I go to a state school, but for the field I’m studying it’s pretty good (<5). I’ve never really been good with sciences or any other subject, for me it seemed like no matter how hard I try I can never be “really good” at anything, as hard as I tried I’d always fall in the middle. Similarly, I don’t think I’m really bad at many subjects. Regardless, in post-high school education it’s not really how intelligent you are but how hard you’re willing to work that shows up on your grades. Well. I’ve had a really tough time trying to prove myself. Take math for example, I carried over a 2.2 from trigonometry in high school, to get a 2.7 in Calc I. Then I began to take school seriously (after realizing how serious these four years are), and my grades have shot up tremendously. 3.5 in Calc II, 3.8 Calc II, 4.0 diff. Eq, 4.0 matrix algebra, 4.0 multivariable, etc. I just completed general chem and physics courses this year, and received 4.0s in all six intro classes. With all of the mistakes I’ve made in the past, my GPA still falls around a 3.5 sci gpa, and similar non-sci. No volunteering, no clubs, no-savingbabies-or-puppies-from-burning-buildings, I have done research at several labs, and currently in a pathology lab. I’m really trying to take my schooling seriously but I have this sort of complex that nothing is good enough because I have so much to “prove