Dismiss Notice
SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

Letter of Recommendation advice please??

Discussion in 'Psychology [Psy.D. / Ph.D.]' started by didyouknow96, Jan 4, 2018.

1. didyouknow96

Pre-Psychology
    Okay so last semester I studied abroad and interned at mental health outpatient facility for individuals with schizophrenia, bipolar disorder, and unspecified personality disorders. It was a really great experience and my supervisor really really liked me. I asked him to write me a letter of recommendation for an REU this summer and he agreed. I emailed him about it on like December 25th, just sending him my resume, my research interests, transcript, and link to submit the letter; however, he still has not replied. When should I email him again? The letter is due January 31st and I'm just getting really concerned that I'll have to ask someone else last minute.

#1 didyouknow96, Jan 4, 2018
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2018
  2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. MamaPhD

MamaPhD Psychologist, Academic Medical Center
    Psychologist

Psychologist
    You emailed him less than two weeks ago, on Christmas Day. A lot of people are still out on vacation, so keep that in mind.

It's fine to send a quick follow-up along the lines of "Happy new year! Thank you again for agreeing to write a letter of recommendation to support my application to [XYZ]. As the program's application deadline is approaching, can you confirm that you will be able to send the letter by January 31? Please let me know if you have any questions about the supporting materials I sent on [DATE]. Sincerely, [YOUR NAME]"

tiy123 and Fan_of_Meehl like this.
  4. didyouknow96

Pre-Psychology
    Is it too soon though? I think I emailed him the day after Christmas, not the day of.

5. foreverbull