Letters of Recommendation

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

grossmac

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm an MD/PhD student and I'll be doing two away electives at competitive programs during the month of August and September.

I was wondering how many letters of recommendation you and suggest and from who?

I was planning thru ERAS:
1. MD/PhD thesis advisor - home school
2. RadOnc Faculty from home school
3. MD/PhD program director - home school
4. Pathologist - home school

Then, once I receive (hopefully) a letter of recommendation at the two away electives, sending them separately to the schools?

Is this a good strategy? Should I get more letters (from home school) and send them separately - i.e. from Int Med, and others? Are there certain clinical fields that I should get a letter from? Any harm in including Pathology and MD/PhD program director letter?

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

When getting letters, think quality over quantity. Must have letter from PI if you've spent 3-4 years working with him or her. Get at least 1 strong Rad Onc letter - ideally from someone who is well-known or is known (hint buddy buddies) by other program directors and/or chairman, and 1 additional letter - if it's from Rad Onc - great - but it would be better to submit a strong letter from a non-Rad Onc field than a weaker one from a Rad Onc field. Also, don't underestimate the importance of a letter from your Medicine SubInternship. It could make up A LOT for any deficiencies in your clinical performance otherwise.

I was also wondering about rec letters...what is more recommended? 2 letters from radonc department chair and co-chair, plus:

a) 1 letter from int med and 1 letter from peds
OR
b) 1 letter from another radonc attending who I know a bit better and I did clinical research w/ and 1 letter from either int med or peds