Letters of Recommendation

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

strider

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've been out of school for 8 years, and was recently told by Pre-med advisors at UCLA that med schools will still want letters of rec. from professors at your undergrad. institution. Not only that, but that they should be from science professors. The problem is, that though I have completed all pre med class requirements, I have a Geography degree, and didn't get to know any professors in my first 2 years of science classes (the class sizes at UCLA usually prevent this). Does anyone know if schools really want outdated letters of recommendation from professors who didn't even know me then, let alone now, even if I got an A in the class? Shouldn't grades cover that base? Any help....

Members don't see this ad.

Hey man, I feel ya. I am graduating from UCLA at the end of this spring and I have to admit, getting decent letters of rec is no easy task. What I did was email the professors about meeting with them to possibly get a letter of rec. One of the professors graciously set up a time with me and I came in and we talked for probably 30 min or so about my goals, aspirations, etc. I gave him my personal statement and a resume and he wrote me a letter. Sure he can't say something like, I've know Joe for 10 years and he is the best student, yada, yada, yada...but it is better than no rec at all.

Another professor had me fill out a form (she writes many letters) and submit stuff for her to get to know a little about me. It's tough and they aren't the best letters you can get, but unless you are one of those idiots that sits in the front row and always raises his hand (in a class of 280), then you can't really expect anything better.