Little known, grade inflated school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Elkoshi

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I have a question about schools with bad grade inflation. For my B.A. I went to a school which for anonymity's sake I will merely say was similar to Touro in New York, but not even as good. The school is very small, poorly known, and has severe grade inflation. As such I graduated with a 4.0 without inordinate effort. This isn't to say everyone got free A's--I almost always outperformed the rest of my class--just that I don't think that I earned every A.

As I was a liberal arts major I haven't taken many prereq's yet, which I plan on doing at a CUNY school this coming year. My question is this: In order to be seriously considered by a medical school, should I try to get a second bachelors from CUNY, or would a high GPA in my prereq's alone be enough to prove that I can compete in a "real" school?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Hi, I have a question about schools with bad grade inflation. For my B.A. I went to a school which for anonymity's sake I will merely say was similar to Touro in New York, but not even as good. The school is very small, poorly known, and has severe grade inflation. As such I graduated with a 4.0 without inordinate effort. This isn't to say everyone got free A's--I almost also outperformed the rest of my class--just that I don't think that I earned every A.

As I was a liberal arts major I haven't taken many prereq's yet, which I plan on doing at a CUNY school this coming year. My question is this: In order to be seriously considered by a medical school, should I try to get a second bachelors from CUNY, or would a high GPA in my prereq's alone be enough to prove that I can compete in a "real" school?

They will look to your MCAT to prove your mettle, so at this point only take the prereqs and massacre the MCAT. Good luck.