• SDN Site Updates

Hey everyone! The site will be down for approximately 2 hours on Thursday, August 5th for site updates.

psych7711

10+ Year Member
Feb 7, 2008
Status (Visible)
Hey everyone,

This is probably a silly question, but how do psych residents carry books, pda, stethoscope, reflex hammer, etc around on the psych floors without wearing a white coat?

I understand that after the first year, I probably won't need to carry around as much, but as an intern I don't feel prepared to just walk around with a pen yet. When we do admissions, we obviously have to perform a physical exam which means at least carrying a steth. and reflex hammer, pen light, etc.

Do residents ever carry small tote bags? I've seen neurology residents carry bags and that is in addition to having a white coat.

Maybe I could carry a huge zipped interview folder? I want to try to be organized, how do you psych residents stay organized? Notecards? folders?

Thanks

Chrismander

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Apr 30, 2006
Status (Visible)
  1. Attending Physician
Hey everyone,

This is probably a silly question, but how do psych residents carry books, pda, stethoscope, reflex hammer, etc around on the psych floors without wearing a white coat?

I understand that after the first year, I probably won't need to carry around as much, but as an intern I don't feel prepared to just walk around with a pen yet. When we do admissions, we obviously have to perform a physical exam which means at least carrying a steth. and reflex hammer, pen light, etc.

Do residents ever carry small tote bags? I've seen neurology residents carry bags and that is in addition to having a white coat.

Maybe I could carry a huge zipped interview folder? I want to try to be organized, how do you psych residents stay organized? Notecards? folders?

Thanks

Two words: Cargo Pants.

http://www.oldnavy.com/browse/category.do?cid=5211

Doc Samson

gamma irradiated
10+ Year Member
Dec 2, 2005
Not Boston anymore