Loma Linda?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

maz56

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I need more info about the program at Loma Linda. Does anyone have any input or first-hand experience there...rotation, interview, etc?

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

maz56 said:
I need more info about the program at Loma Linda. Does anyone have any input or first-hand experience there...rotation, interview, etc?

Thanks

Yeah, I have back-to-back interviews, and need to decide if it's worth it to haul ass from Philly, to Loma Linda, and then to the Bronx, all on consecutive days. So, someone PLEASE post some info soon!

As a generic comment - Loma Linda is a "dry" town. Just FYI if that stuff matters to you.

Members don't see this ad :)
hope i can be of some help...

i'm a 2nd year med student at loma linda, and have spent time at the ophtho department (research). i know some attendings and residents as a result.

residents are successful getting good fellowships (iowa, ucsf, ucla, etc). chairman is Howard Gimbel, M.D., a famous cataract/refractive surgeon.

residents are treated well...all the ones i've met have been really happy. when i talked to the residents, they said the selling point for them was that they get "really good surgical training." I guess that sounds sorta vague.

lots of pathology in the area. research isn't very strong. from what i understand...they're trying to boost their research.

just got 2 new attendings, highly qualified and great teachers (plastics and glaucoma)

the area is something to get used to i guess...almost all the staff are christian (loma linda is an adventist institution). the area is sorta boonies...about an hour from LA and OC. nothing really to do in town but eat, sleep, and work. =] it's actually growing quite a bit...real estate rising etc. largely hispanic patient population.