Long time since I graduated Undergrad and potential Military Medical Discharge need help how to plan application

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Mybosswontapproveofthis

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Long story short, I graduated in 13, took my mcat 2014 (applied to med school, half way through the cycle I was worried about if this was the right choice/direction), joined the military as enlisted then went and became a pilot. Im currently all sorts of broken due to a work related accident and most likely going to be medically discharged before my contract ends, I am currently planning on apply MD. How much work do I need to do to make myself competitive since I'll be in my mid30s soon. I had a 3.475 in undergrad, 3.65 science gpa (I have 3 withdrawls from my undergrad had family issues one semester and withdrew most of my classes one semester), I got like 80% on the mcat cant remember and know its expired. I have since gotten a Master of Finance GPA was a 3.95 not sure if that helps. Haven't done any shadowing, volunteering or clinical experience since 2014/15 and lets be honest I cant remember my total hours.

Most of my pre-reqs hit 10+ years this fall, what can I do to help my MD chances? I had a Zoom call over a year ago with the dean of admission from VCOM and he basically told me that because I have 3 W's I wouldnt be considered a solid candidate without taking a "full time Postbacc/SMP" to show my commitment. He didnt seem to care that I was a pilot, and that I had a masters just kept harping on the whole need to take a whole year of similar course load, and he didnt seem to care/understand that I couldnt do that at the time because Im still active duty.

Members don't see this ad.