Looking for a DO school that matches me

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

tuco's revenge

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi I've been a lurker for a long time and this is my first post on SDN!

So I am looking for a DO school that has the following features:
1. Cheap tuition (around 40k or less)
2. NO mandatory attendance.
3. solid record of matching a decent amount of students into anesthesia

My GPA is 3.96 and my MCAT is 510 (128,126,125,131) and I am an ORM CA resident. I feel like I have a great shot at any DO school so I want to go to one that will make my life easier if I don't get into any MD this year

Any tips? I know LECOM is 30k a year but I hear they have mandatory attendance :(

Thank you!!

Members don't see this ad.

Members don't see this ad :)
We'd all love to eat our cake and have it too.

Reactions: 1 user
Does anyone other than LECOM have tuition under $40K for out of state students? Honest question. (I know some of the state schools might be cheaper for in-state students, but that won't help OP).

For what it's worth, the mandatory attendance isn't bad after the first 10-12 weeks if you're PBL. Your time on campus is usually only 2 hours M/W/F and a half day Tuesday & Thursday. Some weeks are mostly free except for obviously studying-- I had times I didn't go to campus except on Tuesdays for a week or two.

But yeah, as others have said, you'll likely have to choose which factor is more important for you.

Does anyone other than LECOM have tuition under $40K for out of state students? Honest question. (I know some of the state schools might be cheaper for in-state students, but that won't help OP).

Unless you count TCOM then no, I made an excel sheet with all the schools and their respective tuitions. I guess TCOM could fit all of OPs descriptions but I'm not sure about the mandatory classes.

1) I'd like Dane Cook to be funny.

2) Pizza that gives me six pack abs.