Feb 8, 2013
Status
Pre-Medical
Hoping some of you who are a bit farther along can help me come up with a solid plan for knocking out my pre-reqs and being in super shape to apply to med schools...

Background first: I'm 37, married with 3 kids (14, 8, and 16mo.) I've been chipping away at a BA for the last nearly 20 years but what with having kids, getting married, and just going off to DO things I've never finished. I have 94 credits and am almost done with an English major. I took 1 semester of Bio, 1 Anatomy and 1 Nutrition class way back when and that is it as far as science/math/health classes go. I have a 4.0 this time around, but including all college course work my GPA is low 3s.

My current school doesn't do a pre-med major. They suggest the standard 2 semesters + labs of Bio, Chem, OChem and Physics, plus Calc. They also recommend a Stats class and a "life cycle" class - Soc or Psychology... The med schools I'm targeting ask for all of the above plus Bio Chem and Genetics.

Including summer school I could do all of the above in 2 years, graduate in 2015 and start med school just before my 40th birthday. The biggest drawbacks that I can see to that plan are the huge amount of stress that cramming all those courses in will create and having to take the MCAT next spring, before taking OChem or Physics.

Alternatively, I could take 3 years, still do the basic pre-reqs in 2 but be better prepared for the MCAT and have a calmer life overall. The bummer there would be having to wait an extra year, and being that much older when I start.

Not sure if it makes a difference but I have plenty of clinical experience, ECs and community service. I have a meeting next week to kick off a research opportunity and if I take the 3 year path there is a summer program just down the road that would be a lock.

So what do you all think? Hurry up and get it done or take an extra year to hopefully have a better shot at the MCAT?

Chip N Sawbones

Ship's Carpenter
7+ Year Member