Looking for some advice - choosing a specialty?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

blueadams

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I have read all the statistics that I have been able to find on this matter, but I wanted to hear some actual opinions from some actual people! - So, here we go:

I am a soon-to-be non-traditional medical student. I majored in history as an undergraduate, because I wanted to be a high school football coach. I love coaching football more than I can put into words, but I am no longer satisfied with being a high school teacher. I have applied to and been accepted to a prominent post-bac program, so, if all goes well, I should be starting medical school soon.

#1) I am looking for a medical specialty that will enable me to resume coaching high school football (at least as an assistant) once I get into practice. So, in short, I am looking for something with shorter hours, more stable hours, and the ability to go into private practice.

#2) Money is not that important to me. I was doing alright on a teacher's salary (a laughing matter to most of you I'm sure), but I would like to be a little more well off before starting a family. I know that I will be making more than enough regardless of what field I go into after graduating medical school, so that is not much of a concern to me.

#3) I took intro biology and chemistry as a college freshman (a long, long time ago), I studied quite hard, and I got B's in both. I attended a prestigious school though, so the classes might have been harder than most. Regardless, I do not doubt that I will be able to complete medical school, but I would be surprised to graduate at the top of my class. So, with that being said, the most competitive fields will probably not be available to me.