Looking into MD/PhD programs. Crappy freshman year GPA (3.1) but been doing much better. Chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

klucket2

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've been going back and forth between PhD and MD/PhD programs for a while. I'm currently a SURP student at Sloan Kettering, and being here is really making me consider MD/PhD again. I was really unmotivated my freshman year because I didn't know what I wanted to do and was taking classes I didn't like, so I ended up with a 3.1 GPA (B's in some psych classes, C in organic chem I). I'm a Biochem major, and since then my semester GPAs have been 3.79, 3.86, 3.57, and 3.866. My cumulative GPA is now a 3.58, and I know I'll be able to bring it up higher by the end of senior year. I have been doing research since the spring of my sophomore year. I did one summer of full time research at my college (small liberal arts) and I am currently a SURP student at Sloan Kettering. I will have attended 2 national conferences by the time I graduate. I haven't taken the MCAT yet because up until now I was just considering PhD, so if I do decide to go this route I will be taking 2 year off to work as a lab tech somewhere in NYC so I can take the MCAT and get some shadowing experience. Do you think PD/PhD programs (Tri-Institutional being my top choice) are out of reach because of my freshman year GPA?

Members don't see this ad.

First off what's your reason for wanting to go from PhD to MD/Phd? Because you haven't really given any indication for why you want to change.

Yes your GPA will provide some issues getting into an MD/PhD program.

https://www.aamc.org/students/download/121086/data/mdphd_isitrightforme.pdf