LOR from 2-3 years ago still acceptable?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

newbeginnings

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
For my science/non science LOR, one is from August 2012, and the other June 2013. I graduated 2013, applying this cycle. I'm planning on getting a new science LOR from a post bacc class I am finishing up this quarter, so I'll have 1 new sci LOR dated 2015. I'll also have another new 1-2 LOR (2015) from my EC's..

Can I still use those older LOR letters from my professors? I mean, I can ask them to update the dates, but it has been a while and I feel super awkward because my plans had changed (I ended up not applying in 2013).

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Ask your professors to change the dates and update your letters.

Ask your professors to change the dates and update your letters.
One of my professors no longer works at my school and I'm trying to find where he moved (might be out of the country, last I heard). Is it acceptable to have the older letters combined with very recent ones?

Members don't see this ad :)
I have read in other threads from the adcoms that they prefer you LOR to be from within the year, for instance last cycle is acceptable but farther than that, is not recommended. Agreed, try to seek out whatever professors you can to update Letterheads, if not, send in the most recent and max they will take.

I have read in other threads from the adcoms that they prefer you LOR to be from within the year, for instance last cycle is acceptable but farther than that, is not recommended. Agreed, try to seek out whatever professors you can to update Letterheads, if not, send in the most recent and max they will take.
Yeah I'm planning on having the new 2015 LOR from a professor.. And the 2013 one because I think 2 years might be ok. But for the 2012 one, I will try and find him since he's no longer at my school. God it's gunna be soooo awkward!