LOR from non-teachers?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Squidaronimous J

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have a question about letters of recommendation. I am a non-traditional student going back for some post-bacc classes to fill out my science pre-med requirements.

Most of the classes I available to me are rather large (in the hundreds), not a lot of opportunity to network, etc.

However, I also work full-time at a scientific research firm (approx 6,000 PhDs on staff). I've got a very strong rapport with a number of PhDs in my division (stats/genetics). I also work on a number of national and international research projects (we contract with almost every government agency and many state govts).

Being that I am an older, non-trad student do you think that my work experience would count as 'research experience' and that LOR from individuals that I work with (and maybe one from a doc I follow) would suffice as opposed to LORs from professors?

Any thoughts,
Squid J

Members don't see this ad.