LOR from Piano Teacher?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Kikaku21

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've been playing for many years. I know it could be a great letter. It verifies that I am diverse and have alot of interests, etc, etc....

Should I bother and would any medicals schools care?

Members don't see this ad.

No, you want your LOR letters to come from people who can speak of your academic prowess and your ability to be a good physician. While your piano teacher may know you really well, he/she would make a great personal reference for job applications, but not for medical school applications. Stick to professors or academic advisors from organizations at your college in which you are actively involved.

I've been playing for many years. I know it could be a great letter. It verifies that I am diverse and have alot of interests, etc, etc....

Agree with Vandy - when LOR hunting you should stick to MD/PhD/DO or anyone supervising your courses/clinical/volunteer/research experience. A letter from a random piano teacher won't open anyone's eyes.

Members don't see this ad :)
Piano lessons are often 1 on 1, and if you haved used some of the time to discuss outside interests, and if your teacher can attest to your personality and characteristics as they relate to medicine, then I think it's good. Would maybe be better if the piano teacher had some credentials. I have a LOR from associate professor of music at my school, who is my teacher.

Piano lessons are often 1 on 1, and if you haved used some of the time to discuss outside interests, and if your teacher can attest to your personality and characteristics as they relate to medicine, then I think it's good. Would maybe be better if the piano teacher had some credentials. I have a LOR from associate professor of music at my school, who is my teacher.

:thumbdown: