bnoosha

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Jun 15, 2005
The OC
Status
Medical Student
Hello I was wondering what the proper etiquette is regarding showing thanks for someone who wrote me a letter of recommendation

Should i send a thank you card in teh mail, email a thank you...or stop by their office w/ like a box of choclates...

what do you guys think

THanks!!!!

jonb12997

I'm a doctor!!
15+ Year Member
Jul 31, 2003
Wherever I go, that's where the party's at!
Status
Attending Physician
send 'em on a 7 day cruise... you're gonna be a doctor, you can afford it!! hehe, not enough sleep last night, i'm really punchy... on a more serious note, I just sent a thank you note once I decided where I was going just saying thanks for writing me a letter, here's where I'm going next year, etc... and just put in a $5 dunkin donuts gift card (I went to school in the boston area where there are more dunkies than there are gas stations it seems)... it seemed the most appropriate thing for me.

OSUdoc08

Membership Revoked
Removed
15+ Year Member
Sep 30, 2003
Status
Medical Student
bnoosha said:
Hello I was wondering what the proper etiquette is regarding showing thanks for someone who wrote me a letter of recommendation

Should i send a thank you card in teh mail, email a thank you...or stop by their office w/ like a box of choclates...

what do you guys think

THanks!!!!
I just gave them a phone call.

About the Ads

daveyjwin

10+ Year Member
Jun 9, 2005
FL ,USA
Status
Attending Physician
I'm gonna stick a gift card of some sort in a thank you card and send one to all my LOR writers.

laboholic

10+ Year Member
Jun 16, 2005
Status
Resident [Any Field]
A nice hand-written thank you card will suffice
... as well as keeping them up to date on your application progress

dhp98

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Jul 17, 2003
Visit site
Status
laboholic said:
A nice hand-written thank you card will suffice
... as well as keeping them up to date on your application progress