LOR troubles

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Sweet Tea

Girl Next Door
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I just got back from a conference to find a letter from the University of Vermont. They said they need 3 letters from professors-- not just faculty members but people who have actually taught me. This is a problem b/c a) I graduated in 2001 from a large university and the only profs I knew really well have already written letters for me. and b) they want it by Dec. 31. I called the admissions office and they said that they needed either a committee letter (don't have a committee) or 3 profs, and they won't budge (even though my boss is on faculty, she didn't actually teach me...) yeach.

The thing is that I really liked UVM and would love to go there. Should I bother trying to get that LOR? I'm frustrated. :(

Members don't see this ad.

That's one of the reasons I've been dragging my feet to finish Pitt's secondary. They want a third faculty letter, and my grad career has given me limited contact with professors. I have someone I could approach, but I'm putting it on hold. If you can, just get a letter to meet the requirement. It'll probably be a generic one, but at least it's better then not being able to apply at all.