Jul 26, 2017
Status
Pre-Medical
Hello everyone, What are my chances? I am URM (Mexican) born in Houston raised in Mexico but moved back to Houston when I was 7. I graduated with 3.65 overall gpa with excellent ECs and healthcare hours. My mcat is the only thing that I think will keep me from getting into medical school.. i score very low... I took it one time and got 500 and second time I got 498... I decide to apply anyways to all TMDSAS schools and AMCAS since I had a free waiver through FAP... I submitted primaries and secondaries in early July and was complete in most schools by July 13th... I just haven't heard nothing...

More background:
Raised by undocumented single mother of 4 children, very economically disadvantage and even homeless for one week.. we received our home through Habitat for Humanity.

EC:
Resident assistant, Ministry group leader, fraternity big brother, college forward mentor for URM students, physiology class preceptor, 800 hours of vonteering for Habitat for Humanity, 150 hours volunteer through fraternity cleaning up creeks and helping poor schools, 2500 hours working patient care technician, 2000 medical assistant in family practice and about 500 working as EMT in private ambulance.. 65 hours shadowing Family medicine, and 50 hours shadowing Physical Therapist.. I will start shadowing Pediatrician soon, NP and PA...

what do y'all think are my chances.. I know some people didn't hear back from interview until late December with similar stats as mine. Do y'all think they will go back and review my application once everyone's app is in?! Thank you guys.

Btw: I'm already studying again for my mcat... i plan on retaking it and applying again next year.. i will continue working as EMT, volunteering, and shadowing.. thanks

Rhabdoviridae

Membership Revoked
Removed
Account on Hold
May 2, 2017
Status
Medical Student