1. The SDN iPhone App is back and free through November! Get it today and please post a review on the App Store!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Low GPA/advice

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by purpletulipa, Dec 4, 2002.

1. purpletulipa

purpletulipa Junior Member
    7+ Year Member

I graduated in 1999 in with a BS in Psychology from Iowa State University.
    During college I worked at a nursing home for one summer and worked as a
    phlebotomist for one year. After graduation I worked as a nurse assistant for
    a Dermatology Clinic. Since then I have been working at a corporate office in
    the Information Technology Department.

I have an extreme desire to attend medical school and to become a physician.
    Unfortunately I wasn?t as focused in college and received a 2.7 GPA. I would
    like to retake some of the premed courses and sit for the MCAT.

Is there any advice on what to do for admission into medical school? I have heard that the caribbean med schools are a little easier to get into... anyone know more information about them or recommend a particular school?
    Thank you.

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. TeinVI

TeinVI Membership Revoked
    Removed

you probably know that a 2.7 isn't gonna cut it for us allopathic schools save howard and meharry (j/k). no, seriously, u need to do some sort of post-bac program and try to get close to a 4.0 and ace ur mcats. your ecs looks fine to me. do a search on post-bac programs and u should get plenty of results.

4. xaelia

xaelia neenlet
    Physician Faculty 10+ Year Member

MDApps:
    Attending Physician