Dismiss Notice
Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Low GPA, Chances of getting into a decent pharmacy school?

Discussion in 'Pre-Pharmacy' started by mmortimer52, Feb 14, 2018.

1. mmortimer52

Pre-Pharmacy
    Hey everyone, I was wondering what my chances of getting into a decent pharmacy school are and if you could share your experiences with me. I’m a senior at OSU and have a low cumulative GPA, but I think I have decent extracurriculars. I currently have a 2.9 GPA (but hopefully I will bring it up to a 3.0 after this semester). I have been a tech at CVS for about a year, worked in a research lab for 2 years, and I shadowed a clinical pharmacist. I plan on taking the PCAT in July, and I know I need to do really well on that. What do you think is a good score to balance out my GPA? Do I even have a chance of getting into a decent pharmacy school with these stats? And if so, what schools do you think I would have a good chance of getting in to? Any advice is appreciated!

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. lalaland33

Pharmacy Student
    I'm not a pharmacy student yet (I'll be starting this fall) but I've heard of students getting into schools with low GPAs especially new schools. But in my opinion, if a school has to beg you to fill their seat, something is wrong. Advice I've seen on posts similar to yours have been: if you're unable to do undergraduate coursework well, you will find pharmacy coursework to be impossible. Try to bring that GPA up in the next year and try taking some harder science courses like Biochemistry, Genetics, Microbiology, Molecular Cell Biology, etc. and see how you do in them/if you find them interesting :) Good luck.

ChemTiger and DailyDaisies like this.
  4. MQQ

MQQ IDK

Pre-Pharmacy
    to be honest... depends on ur undergraduate college. If its top 30+, u are ok...
    Also is that ur science GPA or overall... ?

ChemTiger and lalaland33 like this.
  5. mmortimer52

Pre-Pharmacy