Low gpa, decided to do dental hygiene first? Need some advice!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MakSsal

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys.

I graduated with my bachelor of science degree, and my GPA was at around 2.8.
I know I wasn't really focusing on my school at that time.. and I regret it.
I thought my gpa was too weak to apply for any dental school (didn't even think about taking DAT either because of my gpa) so I applied to 2-year dental hygiene program at the community college.
I was going to stop my journey after becoming a dental hygienist because it is a decent job still.

Now I'm in first semester of this program, and I love it.
It makes me thinking of going further-applying for dental school. I know it will take 4+ years from now on, but I think age isn't a BIG deal (I'm 26 now by the way...).

My concern is, my gpa from undergrad is weak, and would dental hygiene background be helpful to get in to the dental school? Do I have to just focus on DAT?
Do you guys think there is any hope here?
Please I need some advice.

Members don't see this ad.

It won't hurt, but I don't think being a hygienist makes you jump off the page to the admissions committee.

That being said, going to school for 2 more years will give you a change to improve your GPA, which will help.

I do not think being a hygienist helps you get into dental school. They want students who they know can handle the academic rigors of dental school. A 2.8 gpa and a community college dental hygiene degree do not convey that. Quite frankly it looks like that gpa corresponds with that degree.

i fully understand that people can make poor decisions and that GPA doesn't always reflect their intelligence. However there is no way for an admission committee to know that unless you prove it.

I think you have 2 options. Study like a madman and blow the DAT out of the water. Like 90th percentile (not easy to do).

Or