Jul 20, 2009
Status
Pre-Podiatry
Hi I am a rising 4th year student at UVA and am applying to podiatry school this September and I was wondering what my chances were of getting in. I have a 2.6 gpa (2.8 science). Im taking the Mcat in August. I have lots of extracurriculars and lots of clinical experience and research and have shadowed two podiatrists that are both giving me a recommendation. I also am currently retaking the second part of orgo that I got a D in the first time I took it. What do you guys think? Also UVA is a high ranked school (#23 I believe in the nation, #2 for public schools), does that have any factor on my acceptance?

thanks

May 23, 2009
St. Paul
Status
Podiatry Student
Hi I am a rising 4th year student at UVA and am applying to podiatry school this September and I was wondering what my chances were of getting in. I have a 2.6 gpa (2.8 science). Im taking the Mcat in August. I have lots of extracurriculars and lots of clinical experience and research and have shadowed two podiatrists that are both giving me a recommendation. I also am currently retaking the second part of orgo that I got a D in the first time I took it. What do you guys think? Also UVA is a high ranked school (#23 I believe in the nation, #2 for public schools), does that have any factor on my acceptance?

thanks
Stop posting this 4 times for the love of god!!! It's a small forum and it's not at all necessary to do this.

Your GPA is pretty bad, it really doesn't matter if you went to UVA, it is still sub 3.0. I don't think you will get into schools like north chicago, arizona, western, or iowa. Try and rock the MCAT and maybe it will open those holy doors for you. You can probably get into the rest of the schools if you get a decent score on the placement test, but it may not be a sure thing as admissions is getting tougher.

OP
U
Jul 20, 2009
Status
Pre-Podiatry
sorry for posting so many times, i didnt realize the forum was small

thanks for your input

OP
U
Jul 20, 2009