Low GPA / High MCAT Dilemma

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

amcdonal

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi All,

I'm trying to figure out when the best time for me to apply is and what my chances are. Currently I have a cGPA of 2.87 and a sGPA of 2.63 but I have an MCAT of 30Q (11/8/11/Q). I graduated w/ a BS in bio and a minor in chem this past May. Did an internship (unpaid) last summer in a European hospital doing rotations with physicians shadowing them and got a lot of patient contact, it was over 150+ hrs of experience (saw 6 complete foot amputations of diabetics, which got me into podiatry), in addition to volunteering in a local ER for over 60+ hrs. Been shadowing a podiatrist here since spring, will have about 25 hrs with them, in their clinic hours and a few surgery observations.

I also currently work full time as a research technician in the Biochemistry and Biophysics department of the medical school here. About 60% of my work is focused on clinical trials in sickle cell disease and I get a lot of patient contact, as well as hard science lab work. I'll be doing this through next June, so a total of about 12 months work (may even have the chance to be published as a co-author on one or two papers).

I really want to go to TUSPM (NYCPM is 2nd choice). My dilemma is that I am taking 12 more hours of classes online, 6 through a comm. college, the rest at my undergrad school but online also. 6 hrs will be non-science, 6 will be science (the ones at my UG school). I'll be able to raise my GPA to a cGPA of 3.0 and my sGPA to a 2.73, but that won't be until December that those are finished. Am I better off taking the classes and waiting that long to apply with a higher GPA, or applying early (as in the few weeks) with my lower current GPA?