Low GPA, High MCAT URM

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TheDonHimself

Reaction score
I'll keep this as brief as possible with all the information.
  • I'll have a 3.3 cGPA and 3.29 sGPA at the end of the year (junior year undergrad) and I have a 520 MCAT score.
  • I'm black
  • I have over 150 hours of volunteer hours at a health center for underprivileged families and also shadow a variety of physicians there (both DO and MD).
  • I am a chemistry and calculus tutor for other students my college.
  • I have been a full time worker to pay bills (35-40hrs/week) for my entire undergrad career so far.
  • I am currently involved in 2 research projects (one could possibly get published)
  • I have retaken 2 classes; one class i withdrew from before receiving a grade then retook and got an A (cell bio), the other I got a C in and retook for an A (genetics).
  • I have gotten a D in analytical chemistry last semester, which has not been retaken since it's not required necessarily. I also have a C in organic chem 1 (but a B in organic chem 2)
  • This semester I have 20 hours of all A's (hopefully that counts for an upward trend?)
Is there still a good chance to make it in next year with such a low gpa? Should I wait to apply next year and focus on increasing my gpa through my senior year and take a gap year if accepted? What types of schools should I apply to/ not apply to? MD vs DO? Post-bacc?

Members don't see this ad.

You've been working full time to pay bills, you're Black, and you have a 520 MCAT? With an upward trend - although a short one? You have a good chance of getting into MD schools this year; retake that D in analytical chemistry. With a gap year - and another couple semesters of As - you've got an even better chance. @Goro might be able to offer better advice...but much is often forgiven for URMs, and the full-time work will mean that you get a little slack on your GPA.