Low GPA on Graduation--Tell Me What to Do

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Algophiliac

Someday...
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Due to certain problems in my life, my GPA will be low upon graduation. Low meaning in the 2.7-2.9 range.

I would prefer not to have to take out further loans to fund taking additional courses after graduating, and should mention that my major is in biology, unfortunately.

What are my best options? I would like to come away with something useful after engaging in any post-graduation jobs/classes/etc., rather than just additional debt and wasted time.

I haven't taken the MCAT, but will do my best to score 30+, of course. When should I take it? I don't want to take it more than 2 years in advance, so please consider that.

Options:
-SMP--I don't know if this will help my GPA or give med schools a better view of my ability to handle med school courses, but I don't want to end up with a useless degree. I don't like this option at all.

-Sciences grad school/MS--I like this option, but it won't affect my undergrad GPA. Is this a problem? I would like the degree I ended up with, and would love to work in that field if med school is never possible, so I like that "back-up." Do I even have a CHANCE at getting into a MS program??

-Job--Just a job? Work in the field, try to gain more research experience? Pay back school loans? Volunteer more, shadow more, etc. more?

-Job w/ part-time college classes--I can't really afford this, and it would take YEARS to raise my GPA to a decent level. Also, taking part-time classes would be less rigorous--does it prove I can keep up a great GPA in med school, as well?