low gpa...postbacc or smp?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

xpanchox

10+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
post bac to raise your GPA and apply broadly to places outside of California as well.

whats up!

I am currently a senior at ucla (physiology major) and my cGPA is 3.4 and my sGPA is 3.36. I have not taken the MCAT yet, but planning to do so this summer. Since I am a California resident I know that it would be harder to matriculate into medical school, so I was wondering if you guys would suggest me going to a postbacc program or smp. I will be applying as a nontraditional applicant since I am planning on working as an EMT to pay off my undergraduate loans.

here is a general list of my ECs:
-american medical student association
-orthopaedic surgery research with 1 publication (1 year)
-300 hours of clinical volunteering
-working at a restaurant (6hrs/week)
-brazilian jiu-jitsu (2hrs/week)

Thanks!

I am in a very similar situation to you, had a 3.45 GPA with a 3.39 sGPA with a upward grade trend, but I've been recommended, based on what I get on my MCAT to do a SMP; it really comes down to the MCAT, unless you get a super stellar score like above 33, its going to be tuff for allopathic school with our lower GPAs; post-bacs, IF you already have the prereqs completed are not going to increase your GPA that significantly to raise it up and r really designed more for people who are changing career's who do not have the sci pre-reqs for med school, remember its always much harder to raise your GPA from a slump then to have a high GPA and have it fall from bad classes! I have an upward grade trend getting mostly B+'s and A's in upper level bio courses so the ADCOMS I spoke with recommended the SMP to show I can do the work!