Low GPA wants to have a chance to Pharm School

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

tranthan

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys, I'm a Pre-Pharm student in Oregon State. My current GPA is only 3.0. I talked with my advisor today and she told me it would be hard for me to get into a Pharmacy School with that GPA, she suggested me changing major. I explained to her that I have one year experience in volunteering at Pharmacy Department in the local hospital, and will be an intern of American Red Cross this summer, but my advisor said Pharmacy Schools only consider the high GPA. I'm really upset, and feel unconfident to apply for PharmD. Could anyone give me some advise for my situation? I'm appreciated it. Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

My advisor told me the same thing but I still got accepted to everywhere I applied and number one on the wait list at one school. There is hope if you have involvement and work experience. Just apply to realistic schools. It's not all about your GPA but it is an important factor.

Reactions: 2 users
My advisor told me the same thing but I still got accepted to everywhere I applied and number one on the wait list at one school. There is hope if you have involvement and work experience. Just apply to realistic schools. It's not all about your GPA but it is an important factor.

Thank you for sharing with me. I really love this major, honestly I do not want to change it. I will try my best to improve my GPA, I hope I could get accepted like you.
Best

Members don't see this ad :)
my advisor said Pharmacy Schools only consider the high GPA.

What she said would have been true several years ago, but the times have already changed and admission standards have lowered since then. While your GPA is low, I think a good number of schools will look at you since you have some work experience.