Low GPA. What should I do? Please help, I am very confused.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BlakeGriffinFan

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I have already applied to medical school for the 2011 cycle and after more and more rejections, I am joining SDN for advice.

My GPA is at 3.25 and 3.126 Science GPA. I am in my last semester in college. I am a Microbiology Major. I am taking many classes right now: Genetics, Medical Mycology, Prokaryotic Biology, Seminar in the Practice of Medicine, and Plants and Society.

My GPA at the end of Sophomore Year was 2.89 and I had a 2.700 Science GPA then. I have worked very hard to bring it up while taking upper level Science Courses.

I took the MCAT last year and did much worse than I thought i would. I made a 27S (10B, 9V, 8P). I was expecting much better so I had already applied to med schools while improving my AMCAS GPA from 3.12 and 2.98 sGPA when I submitted in Spring 10 to where it is now.

I interviewed at one of my state schools in GA on November 2nd and haven't heard anything from them even after submitting my new grades that brought my grades up from 3.15 to 3.25. I haven't heard anything positive from any other schools.

I need advice on what I should do from here. I am currently looking into SMP's, and I am thinking of retaking MCAT in the Summer before that would start. What do people think? I'd appreciate any words of wisdom/feedback/advice from anyone. Thanks a lot

Also, I realize that DO and Caribbean are options out there, but as of now I am still hoping to get into a US MD School this year or the next before going through with those options. Thanks again.

Members don't see this ad.