Low GPA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Jay2312

Reaction score
Hello Everyone.

I need some advice. I just graduated undergrad this past Spring and unsure if I should apply during the 2021 cycle or do a postbac. I’m currently studying for the MCAT and hoping to take it beginning of 2021 depending on my practice exam scores.

I struggled through undergrad, but was able to find myself and turn my life around. I ended up finishing my spring term of junior year and my senior year with a 3.72 GPA (54 credits) of Gen Chem II Gen Bio II, Physics, Ochem, Biochem, Genetics and Calculus which are almost all my pre-reqs. I did get a D+ on both Gen Chem I and Gen Bio I, beginning of my junior year which I retook I also got a C- and 2 B- on 12 credits of Math during my Freshman and Sophomore year. My current GPA is 3.23 cGPA and 3.37 sGPA. I’m Hispanic, 1st generation, Oregon resident and in the LGBTQ community. I have around ~6000 hrs of medical experience as a CMA, ~200 hrs of research, ~100 hrs of volunteering and ~60 hrs of shadowing. I’m currently volunteering and trying to get more shadowing hrs.

What do you guys think, should I focus on my MCAT and apply next cycle (2021) or do a DIY post-bac at my local university or cc to increase my science GPA. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

A DIY post bacc at a local college to increase your sGPA and cGPA is a good idea.

Thank you so much for the quick response. Would you say taking around a full year of post bacc, 30-45 credits be enough? I also wanted to know if I end up focusing on the MCAT and not doing the post bacc what MCAT should I aim for to have a chance for an acceptance to any MD/DO school?

Thank you once again I greatly appreciated!