Low gpas. . .

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sunflower79

Plays well with knives
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I have talked to former pre-meds who say they no longer pursue medicine because their grades aren't good enough. Now, I didn't venture to ask what their gpa's were, but mine is a 3.2 with a *sucky* senior year due to personal issues. Now I'm taking courses post-bac and trying to redeem myself, and I did well on the MCAT (36S), but I would like to get a sense of what is realistic at this point. I'm also a CA resident; assuming that I get all A's for a year, do I still have a shot at the UCs, or even a tier 1 or 2 school? --btw, how is that even defined? where is the cutoff between tier 1/2 or 2/3?

Just want a sense of what schools I should look at and where I should stop wasting my time.

Congrats on everyone's interviews and acceptances! Good luck!

Members don't see this ad.

wow, a 36 on your mcat, that is really cool.

i would apply to any school you want, i'd be willing to bet even harvard or the like would give you shot at an interview based off your your mcat, i wouldn't only apply to the big schools, but if you want to, i think you definitely have a shot.

i'm sure plenty of schools will take a look at you even with your gpa where it is, which isn't that bad.

how are your ec's? research?

i'd apply to 15 to 20 schools and make sure there is a good range with respect to the competiveness of the schools. msar will give you a good base with which to compare yourself.

best of luck.

As always...your GPA means nothing without school(s) attached. Are we talking UCLA, Stanford, UCB, CSU Stanislaus, or Fresno City College?

Members don't see this ad :)