low sGPA...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dmb129

Pre-med Student
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

So, i'm in a bit of a bind here, and I was just looking for some thoughts/suggestions.

I'm a senior engineering undergrad at a top 5 engineering school. I will be applying next summer, and taking the MCAT in the spring. I'm looking at an sGPA of 3.1. I know it's absolutely terrible. What is really killing me is two bad semesters that I had (second semester freshman, and first semester sophomore). I got a D in Calc 4 and C's in Phys 1 and 2. Since, I have retaken Calc 4 and received an A. I also took Physics 3 and got a B. During those two semesters I had health issues and just became completely apathetic about school. After a reality check, I got my health under control, and straightened out my life.

Just wanted to hear some thoughts on this. My AO GPA is 3.56. Do adcoms take into account at all that I am an engineering major so my classes not factored into BCPM are in fact upper level physics classes? Especially with my C's being in intro Phys 1 and 2....

I also have a significant upward trend in GPA. Since my last bad semester, which was my third semester of college, I have gotten 3.5 term GPA or above. I'm in my 9th semester now (including the two summer terms that i took classes). This semester I'm looking at 3.76-4.0 term.

Am I a lost cause for med school? I want nothing more than to become a doctor...

Thanks so much for everyone's help and opinions. You're all awesome!

Members don't see this ad.

DO or bust.

A 3.1 will hurt you pretty bad although at least your cum is >3.5?
If you can get quite a bit above average (31.5) on the MCAT, you may be able to get some interviews at "lower" MD programs.