Low step 1/2 and competitiveness for fellowship

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

notApenguin

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey sdn, I’m a pgy-2 IM resident getting ready to apply for heme/onc this cycle. I have a 21x/23x on step 1 and 2 but matched into a ~top 30 IM program (probably only b/c my SO got me an interview after interviewing at my institution for a different specialty) and otherwise feel that I have a solid application: 2 first author pubs and middle author on 5 other publications during residency, strong clinical evaluations, expect to have strong LORs from PD and mentors, extensive leadership experiences during residency (if that even matters for fellowship), usmd. It’s hard for me to gauge my competitiveness for fellowship. Can I expect to be screened out of many heme/onc programs because of my low step scores? Any recommendations on total amount of programs I should apply to and breakdown of “reaches” vs. “safety” programs?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Hey sdn, I’m a pgy-2 IM resident getting ready to apply for heme/onc this cycle. I have a 21x/23x on step 1 and 2 but matched into a ~top 30 IM program (probably only b/c my SO got me an interview after interviewing at my institution for a different specialty) and otherwise feel that I have a solid application: 2 first author pubs and middle author on 5 other publications during residency, strong clinical evaluations, expect to have strong LORs from PD and mentors, extensive leadership experiences during residency (if that even matters for fellowship), usmd. It’s hard for me to gauge my competitiveness for fellowship. Can I expect to be screened out of many heme/onc programs because of my low step scores? Any recommendations on total amount of programs I should apply to and breakdown of “reaches” vs. “safety” programs?

Apply to any program you can envision tolerating for 3 years. It is getting quite competitive.