lower GPA - 28R MCAT - Graduating Senior

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

gkram2345

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
cGPA - 3.2, sGPA - 3.4
MCAT - 28R - probably will retake, try for 30+

However, strong upward trend, and last ~70hrs at my most recent institution look like this

cGPA - 3.43, sGPA - 3.39 (hopefully to be improved by graduation time)

Have taken a slightly "roundabout" path to my bachelors, which I am in my final year of. Spent three years at one school (Illinois - Urbana). Next spent a single year at CC, and now my final two years have been spent at my last school (Loyola - Chicago) where I am a Biology Major with a Biostatistics Minor.

Have spent a significant amount of time working to support myself throughout my undergrad years, about 20-25 hours per week. I will also have a semester of paid peer tutoring under my belt, in addition to time spent tutoring foreign speakers in an ESL course. Have yet to begin tutoring the ESL, but training begins soon for me.

I just began volunteering at a local hospital in the ER, will have 6-7 solid months by application time.

I am a member of Toastmasters International, a club well known for assisting members in the fine art of public speaking. Should have a certificates claiming that I am both a Competent Communicator, and a Competent Leader by the time I apply.

No organized time in a laboratory setting, but a class I am taking next semester has an independent research component.

Also I have yet to spend time shadowing, but with the upcoming break from school I plan on spending a significant amount of time with a variety of DO's and MD's from various specialties. I have had two professors agree to write strong letters of recommendation for me, which will go to the committee application process through my University.