Lower GPA but Decent DAT, Good EC + Experience

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

fabphysics8

Reaction score
GPA/sGPA: 3.28, 3.12 (sort of a downward trend, but writing about my overcoming difficulties situation in my extra essay), in class for summer quarter and fall. Also my school has a notoriously difficult grading curve (averages set to a 2.6)

DAT (AA/TS/PAT/RC/QR): 21 AA/ 20 TS/ 21 PAT/ 23 RC/ 22 QR

State of Residency: IL

Traditional (Y/N): Y

Volunteering/Shadowing hours: 220+ hours volunteering throughout undergrad, 60 Covid-Response Volunteering. Shadowing for \~200 hours for 3 general dentists at one practice, as well as "dental experience" in working and assisting for my dad's practice throughout my life.

Research: At the beginning of undergrad I was really into ecology so I worked as an amphibian researcher at an aquarium for 165 hours. I was also a part of Design for America, a research based design club, my freshman year to establish my real love for research and design. Then my interests blended and I worked in research for 2 years (600 hours) that collaborated between the materials science + oral sciences departments on biomimetic dental whitening products, and presented my research at a health innovation challenge.

Jobs: I've worked 750 or so hours in the last two years just from the 2 other non dental or research jobs listed on my application.

School list: UIC, SIU, LECOM, Midwestern AZ + Midwestern IL, ATSU AZ, Louisville, Roseman, Touro, UDM, Pacific, NYU, some others slipping my mind at the moment

Members don't see this ad.