Lower GPA paired with RPCV status

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ScienceBrah

insufferable know-it-all
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi!
I have a cGPA3.38 sGPA3.12 undergraduate. I haven't taken the MCAT yet. I worked as a nursing assistant for a year and am now in the Peace Corps as a health volunteer for the next two years. I also worked with refugees and immigrants in college. My dream school right now is Howard University as they have a huge push for serving the underserved.
Thoughts? Chances? MCAT score to shoot for?
I'll be taking inorganic 1 and 2 when I get back and taking an MCAT prep course seeing as I've been outta the game awhile.

Members don't see this ad.

Hi!
I have a cGPA3.38 sGPA3.12 undergraduate. I haven't taken the MCAT yet. I worked as a nursing assistant for a year and am now in the Peace Corps as a health volunteer for the next two years. I also worked with refugees and immigrants in college. My dream school right now is Howard University as they have a huge push for serving the underserved.
Thoughts? Chances? MCAT score to shoot for?
I'll be taking inorganic 1 and 2 when I get back and taking an MCAT prep course seeing as I've been outta the game awhile.
Howard is one of the 3 HBCU medical schools. 25% of the black physicians practicing in the US attended Howard. Not all of their students are UIM but the large majority are. They are looking for folks with a lifetime commitment of service to their target population. An MCAT of 27 (their median) or better would be a good target if you are not a representative of their target community.

Last edited by a moderator:
So I feel like I fit the bill for a lifetime of service and I don't have to fake it.