• Advice You're Thankful for Contest

Now that it's getting close to Thanksgiving, we're running a contest to hear advice you've received that you're most thankful for! This can be any type of advice and the advice with the most reactions will win!

JOIN CONTEST

Loyola Chicago Post-bac (et. al. in Midwest) How do they compare with others?

eric0880

10+ Year Member
Jan 29, 2007
  1. Pre-Medical
    Hello,

I'm new to this forum so I'm still trying to get acclimated. I'm located in central Illinois and over the last several months medicine has presented itself as the direction I should head, that is, this "decision" wasn't made through over-analysis, which I'm prone to, or even that conscious of a decision. It just seems to really make sense.

More about me: I always considered science my first love. However, I graduated with a BA in philosophy with a GPA just under 4.0 (3.98 or so). I started out a physics major and (took physics 1-mechanic and lots of math (through diff. equations). I decided I wanted to graduate work in theology. I then got a Master of Divinity degree (theology) from a seminary. I decided I didn't want to pursue a clerical career. Recently medicine has presented itself as something which fits with my skills (analytical mind, love of science, thrive on contact with people, communication skills, etc.). I've done some volunteering at a hospital (part of theology degree) as well as other non-clinical settings. I took the GRE once (V: 560, Q: 620, AW: 5.5).

I'm interested in a post-bac program; I'd like to stay reasonably close to family (Illinois and Florida). I'd also like a program with strong support for the MCAT and applying to med. school. I'm considering Loyola but am open to other locales. I've heard good and bad points about the IL schools like Loyola and Northwestern.