Loyola vs. Rush vs. UIC

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MedSchool2007

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
hello, I'm new to SDN. I was referred to this site. just thought I would get some feedback. I applied to chicago schools only and have been accepted to my top 3 choices. I am leaning towards Loyola as it was my best interview experience but UIC is looking good for the money and Rush has good facilities, but so does Loyola, anyone have any advice, it would be much appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

Let me preface by saying that I'm not the authority on which you should base your decision, but I was participating in a medical program at northwestern a few months back and had the opportunity to visit both Rush and Loyola (not UIC). You're right, Rush's facils are very nice as well as quite new. The only thing I disliked about their facil is that they lacked a gym or anything analogous to it. Instead, if not mistaken, they share a workout facil with UIC. It's like Rush students have free membership there. As far as Stritch goes, they too have a very nice layout with brand new SOA equipment. Loyola's faculty is extremely nice too. My only complaint with Loyola is the location - Maywood. I'd prefer to be in the city and for that reason I think Rush is great. Not to mention the great exposure you'd have to hospitals like Cook County. I too will be applying to chicago schools when the time comes, and I'm really pulling for Rush and of course U of C. Sorry nothing to say about UIC. Really not sure if I helped. Good luck, either way you can't go wrong.
____________________________________________________University of Missouri-Columbia
MIZZOU TIGERS:clap: