M.B.A. in addition to the D.M.D.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

C2H5OH

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Good day folks!

I'm currently a military dentist, who is trying to make the maximum of the time being waisted in the medical corps, and thus studying for the MBA degree (one more year to go till i get the MBA, and 2 additional years till my obligation to the military is over).

I was wondering what career opportunities would the MBA present to a dentist (and not a MD)?

Any input?

Members don't see this ad.

A big old insurance company would always look at you with interest.

In general though, you're just very well prepared for the trials and tribulations of running your own business with the MBA, and frankly that's one area where I really wish I had pursued an additional degree(and still may do so when my kids get a little older). For most dentists out in practice, its the dentistry that the easy part, but the business operations that are the tough part, and you've got a distinct advantage with the MBA:thumbup:

The MBA could help you get into dental school administration. 2 of our deans at UNC have MBA's but only one of them seems to understand business at all.

Members don't see this ad :)
Do you need to have a license in order to work for an insurance company?
How's the pay there?

I'm kinda disappointed with my work as a GP ... unless I get into OMFS residency, I'm heavily considering to quit practice ... that's the reason for my MBA for now ...

You can now pay yourself another 15k / year for having MBA after DDS in your accomplishments.:D

I'm not ammused ... I really feel that I won't be able to practice much longer, so I'm looking for another decent way to make a living ... that's why I've opened this thread ...