• SDN Site Updates

Hey everyone! The site will be down for approximately 2 hours on Thursday, August 5th for site updates.

curiousme23

5+ Year Member
Apr 22, 2012
Status (Visible)
Hi all,

I am currently a post graduate M.D. student of Anesthesiology at New Delhi, India.
I have a 5 year BS in Medicine and my current 3 year course completes in November 2012.
I am looking forward to a career as an anesthesiologist in USA. Can someone guide me on what path do I need take, what exams and certifications or residencies are required and how tough it is to get in.

As far as I have gathered from various sources on Internet I need to give USMLE(how many stages?), then I need to apply for board certification/license at ABA? Do I need to have a residency first to apply for board certification. If yes, do I still need to have residency if I am already a PG.

I am confused a bit as my information is from various sources over the Internet.
Can someone who has already gone through this process or has an expertise guide me through the overall process. I really want to pursue my career in USA due to some personal reasons.

I will be greatly thankful for all your responses.

Thanks,
Curiousme!

DrBeaker

Me me, me meme
7+ Year Member
Jun 26, 2011
Status (Visible)
  1. Attending Physician
Pass USMLE Step I, Step II CK and CS, Step III
Get ECFMG certified
Apply and match to an anesthesiology program here in the US through NRMP
Complete 4 years of residency
Pass written and oral boards from ABA

I don't think doing the training as you described allows you to bypass doing a residency here in the US. I could be wrong and others could chime in. Long road ahead...

As far as toughness, it's getting tougher, especially for foreign medical grads. Search the forum for threads covering that stuff. Look up the Outcome of the Match stats from NRMP.

rsgillmd

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Nov 24, 2007
Status (Visible)
  1. Attending Physician
Hi all,