M1 Resources (Zanki vs FC, nontrad)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

phdtomduk

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm an incoming M1 looking for input on the best resources to use alongside my courses. I'm particularly interested in hearing opinions on Firecracker vs Zanki. Since our curriculum isn't tailored to step 1, I think supplementing course material with a usmle focused resource will be beneficial. Our curriculum is systems-based.

Questions:

1. Can decks from FC/zanki be added in as I cover them in class? Since I have no baseline science knowledge, I'm assuming I can't add in cards until I cover them in my curriculum. Which would be better for adding selected topics/following course curriculum?

2. Would one of these work better as a resource to help in the short-term with my courses? It'd be nice to use FC/Zanki for both short-term course review and long-term step 1 prep.

Any other insights on FC vs Zanki, the feasibility of jumping into these resources with no science knowledge, how you use these resources as an M1 or in a systems-based curriculum etc., would be appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I think FC still has a free trial, I would try both and see which you like better. The best resource is the one you will use consistently--for me that was FC.

Members don't see this ad :)
I tried both. FC is hood for biochem and micro cards. Algorithm sucks and honestly getting through the cards is just painful. Its very comprehensive though. Its a very good product, but very time intensive.

Zanki is great bc once you figure out anki, the reviews become more transparent than FC. You can make your own cards and really individualize it to fit your needs. Whenever i run into a zanki card i don’t understand, i look it up and make a note in the extras section to remind myself next time.

Zanki gets my vote.

Reactions: 1 users
@intubesteak @Ho0v-man appreciate the input.