Made multiple mistakes as a premed. What are my chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

WastedPotential

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
cGPA 2.8 (Freshman 1.3, Sophomore 2.6, Junior 3.9, Senior 3.9)
sGPA 3.7

I went to my state school. Basically I gave 0 ****s freshman year and 1/2 of sophomore year. I was dealing with family issues and depression and did not care about school at all. Did not attend any classes. Even skipped tests. In the second half of sophomore year I decided that I wanted to go to medical school. I started studying and did well in all my classes. (The reason my sGPA is so much higher than my cGPA is because I only started taking science courses in sophomore year.)

I took the MCAT for the first time at the end of sophomore year because I was just uninformed and wanted to get it over with. I studied only on the weekend before the test (big mistake) and scored a 8/13/7 = 28. The next time I took the MCAT was a year later after studying for 2 months for it. I was able to get a 14/12/14 = 40.
Since graduating a year ago I've been working as an ER scribe and volunteering tutoring inner city youth. I don't really have research experience at all.

So I'm not sure how I really stand. With a 2.8 are my chances for MD out the window? I'm the first person in my family to go to college and I started it pretty late (at age 21). I am 26 now so I would really like to start school asap. Could I get in somewhere still this cycle if I applied?

Members don't see this ad.

Username makes me kind of suspect this is just a troll but I'll give the benefit of the doubt because a) I guess I'm just that nice of a guy b) if this is true it's a fascinating type of situation and stat line to think about.

It's too late to get into MD schools this cycle if you apply I can tell you that. DO's however might be a different story.