Major Career Change, NONtrad — Where to begin?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

36-switch

Reaction score
Hi there! I'm a 36-year-old professional without a conventional psychology background, evaluating pathways to clinical practice.

Background:
  • 2004/5 undergrad in Spanish and International Business, 3.79 GPA, honors
  • Tested out of statistics, took intro psych
  • Some math/science — calculus (A), physics (B), astronomy (A)
  • Worked for 13 years in design / branding / sustainability / consumer research
  • Started a small agency
  • PT faculty at university
  • Studied and taught meditation for 10+ years, about 7 months in solo retreat
Researching programs, reading journals, taking open courses, I believe my goal is to work toward making myself a viable candidate for a PhD program in Clinical Psychology. There are some compelling Counseling Psychology programs housed in Education as well. Friends have suggested MSW, however for me the coursework and focus on external factors don't hold the same interest as psychology. Perhaps a program with a clinical focus could be comparable...? If my goal is to practice, I can do that as an LCSW with a MSW — but again, the coursework looks very different (and naturally, lighter). But it is a faster path to practice...

My question — Where to begin? Where to get foundational coursework, research experience, opportunity to get LORs, and perhaps most importantly to clarify my goals? Which first step will provide the most opportunities? Which is the most time efficient? Resource efficient?
  • Postbac programs (APA accredited)
  • Masters in General Psychology
  • Research assistant job at a university
  • Something else?? (Please don't say going back to undergrad... unless you really think so but I hope you don't :)
THANK YOU SO VERY MUCH FOR YOUR TIME AND ANY ADVICE

Members don't see this ad.