Major: Engineering, gpa 3.4

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NicMouse64

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys I am currently a Biomedical engineering student and my gpa is a 3.4. I am finishing up my 3rd semester at college and am not sure if I should switch majors to increase my GPA. I know if I wasn't an engineering student I could be pulling 3.8/3.9 each semester. My dilemma is I really enjoy engineering and I just got published in Nature and PNAS for a research project I am working on and wouldn't be able to continue the project if I switched majors. I really enjoy my research and I go to a top 20 engineering school but the rest of the programs aren't that well ranked..... I have all the other aspects of the application. I am also okay with going DO as I have shadowed a DO for nearly 40 hours. My ultimate goal is to matriculate into medical school however and I know that I can salvage my GPA if I were to switch now. Any advice or encouragement would be greatly appreciated. Sorry if I posted this to the wrong area, I am new to this.

Members don't see this ad.

Schools take into account the rigour of your program, so I'd say stick with engineering, especially since it's clear you enjoy it.

You may regret switching. I think you can get interviews to MD with a good MCAT.