Making a decision once and for all. Would love some advice from those who have gone before me.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Was medicine worth it to you, and would you recommend it to young would-be doctors?

• Total voters

Life's Student

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I am new to this forum but have been lurking for years as an undergrad. Thanks for taking a sec to read this.

(This will likely be long, so see the TL,DR below if you desire.)

I will be speaking somewhat personally here. All of my life since I was a small child, a career in medicine was the only thing that really made sense. As a college student, I did all my pre-med courses, but switched majors a few times, going from Philosophy, Biology, then to Bioengineering, and got my B.S. I switched into engineering for many reasons. I was extremely interested in making things, especially those that could be useful for Biomedical purposes.
The other side of this decision consisted of fears. Sky-high debt, horror stories of lawsuits, personal sacrifices whose costs far outweighed the benefit at times. Fast forward to this point, and I am now 24 years old and a graduate student in Biomedical Engineering. I enjoy research, and I am fascinated by this field, but I have a strong feeling in my gut that what I truly love is interacting with patients, and that I may end up regretting not going into medicine. I feel as though creating therapies in the lab is a tremendously beautiful thing to do, but I also want to be able to administer such therapies to patients and help them feel better and heal. I am just not sure about the choice and making it totally final, which is why I am here. I have done shadowing, and my favorite thing about it was the human-to-human interactions that being in this field affords you.