Dismiss Notice
SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

manual skill?

Discussion in 'Dental' started by applicant, Oct 30, 2001.

1. applicant

applicant Member

I know that being a dentist requires being good at working with hands... manual dexterity.
    Is this natural skill or something we can get good by practicing?
    I don't think... personally ... that I am not good at manual skills. Does this mean that I won't be able to be a skillful dentist?

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. We recently started waxing and there are people who are just naturally good at hand skills (ie: carving). The work done by such a person and a person with average hand skills are pretty noticeable. However, hand skills can be learned and over time, it is generally the trend that almost everybody becomes equally good at hand skills eventually during dental school (this is what upperclassmen tells me).
    SC

4. eleannaDDS

eleannaDDS Member

Hi applicant,

Steve is right in telling you that manual dexterity can be developed over time. We started waxing in dental anatomy once school started and have been working on various projects for about 6 weeks now.

There were some people who created incredible models of the first assignment: a maxillary central incisor; but the class average as a whole was below passing, even though a few select individuals scored > 75%.

Since then, most people have improved and we have gone on to wax up canines, 1st premolars and 2nd premolars. It's definitely a lot harder than it seems - the class is still hovering around a 55-65% average depending on assignment - but you improve with time. And hopefully it'll soon take us less time to produce satisfactory ones! I'm in the upper half of the class (but definitely not one of the students right at the top) and it still takes 4-6 hours to model a tooth according to the prof's specifications. Crazy!